Beginning with this issue of the Tidewater Times, January 2020, we embark (together) on a voyage of discovery into the history of one small but unique portion of the Eastern Shore that lies in Talbot County. The colonial administration named it “Choptank Island,” though for the last 278 years it has been known as Tilghman’s Island. Although settled more than three and a half centuries ago ~ in 1659, three years before the county itself was established ~ the island was the subject of just two published histories prior to 1991. The first, by Raymond Sinclair, appeared in 1954 and was titled The Tilghman’s Island Story. Antoinette Covington produced the second history in 1981, which she called Tilghman’s Island Capers.